GSoC libSyntax-based indentation mechanism

Hello everyone! My name is Dhruv Garg. I'm a 2nd year undergraduate student from India and I am very excited to apply for GSoC under Swift.

I am interested in the following task : libSyntax-based indentation mechanism.
Before going into the details of libSyntax, I would like to have a good understanding of the current indentation mechanism in Swift.
How can I get started?

2 Likes

Welcome Dhruv! Excited to see that you're interested!

@akyrtzi, @Xi_Ge, and @rintaro are good folks to reach out to on this.

Hi Dhruv,
I'm glad you're interested in learning more about the indentation mechanism of Swift. Currently, based on Swift AST instead of Swift syntax tree, our indentation is implemented in swift/lib/IDE/Formatting.cpp. There're multiple areas we'd like to improve about this mechanism:

1. To support multi-line indentation: Our current implementation only allows single-line indentation. We'd like to support multi-line input or whole-file re-formatting in one transaction for performance enhancement.
  2. To improve configurability: We'd like to allow more detailed configuration specified from users, a classic example is whether to indent case statements inside a switch statement.
  3. To use libSyntax/Swift for implementation: @harlanhaskins is actively working on using libSyntax/Swift to re-implement the formatting logic. We should explore the marriage between this new implementation and our IDE service layer swift/tools/SourceKit.

Please let us know which area fits your interest better.
Xi

Hi Xi and Harlan,

Thank you for your prompt responses. The reason I want to work on indentation / formatting code is because it makes the life of a developer a lot simpler. The code easier to read, understand, modify, maintain and enhance.