GSoC 2024 - Lexical Scopes for swift-syntax project idea

Hi everyone!
I’m Jakub and I’m a Bachelor Computer Science and Engineering student at TU Delft. Over the last year I’ve read up about compilers and I’ve found parsers especially interesting. I’ve been using Swift for the past 4 years and can easily call it my favorite language.

That’s why I’ve been thinking about participating in GSoC this year. The lexical scopes for swift-syntax project specifically caught my attention. I’ve looked through the swift-syntax codebase and documentation. I also had a look at the mentioned C++ implementation of scopes. I have some ideas and made a simple demo for you to check out.

The idea

Swift-Syntax uses CodeBlockSyntax to represent chunks of code forming different scopes. In practice, those can be closures, if-statement bodies, class/struct bodies etc. Introducing lexical scopes could be implemented with a tree structure using CodeBlockSyntax nodes for creating separate scope nodes. The declarations could be then accessed recursively by looking up the closest CodeBlockSyntax ancestor. In order to do this, we could introduce a scope property.

extension CodeBlockSyntax {
    var scope: BlockScope? {
        // ...
    }
}

Implementation

All scopes would conform to a common protocol Scope which would provide methods to retrieve reference declarations and their parent scopes.

/// Protocol describing a general scope.
protocol Scope {
    /// Parent scope.
    var parent: Scope? { get }

/// Returns all the declarations available in the scope berore the specified absolute position. Sorted by position.
    func getAllDeclarations(before position: AbsolutePosition) -> [Declaration]

/// Returns the declaration passed reference refers to.
    func getDeclaration(of declarationReference: DeclReferenceExprSyntax) -> Declaration?
}