[GSoC 2023] Questions about the Scripting in Swift project

Hello! My name is Ty and I'm a student at the University of London. I've used Swift before in a few personal projects and some open-source applications. I'm excited at the prospect of actually contributing to the language itself as it's something I would've never thought of prior to hearing about Google Summer of Code. I understand I'm late to the party but I hope to still submit a proposal prior to the deadline.

I'm interested in the Scripting in Swift project but I could use some help on guidance in terms of design decisions. I have a proposal drafted but as I've learned more about the details of this project I'm a bit unsure which direction to head in.

I contacted @stevapple and he helped me out and filled me in on what he worked on during GSoC 2021 and his thoughts on the continuation of the project (thank you again YR). I've also read through the various pitches and proposals related to the project. Specifically. :arrow_heading_down:

As I understand there are already tools such as swift-sh that do a good job at adding package functionality to a Swift script. But I understand why it may not be ideal. It doesn't have any direct integration with the Swift CLI nor support for syntax validation or highlighting.

My initial thought was to build a tool similar to swift-sh using a comment syntax but I eventually realized it'd be difficult to tie it into the Swift REPL and concluded I'd just be reinventing the wheel at that point.

So, I see that there's a push for baking a syntax to import packages directly into Swift. But this is where I get a bit stumped as I'm not sure what the community would prefer as far as implementation goes.