[GSoC 2022] Use SwiftSyntax itself to generate SwiftSyntax’s source code instead of GYB

Hi everyone!

I'm very excited to be finally participating in Swift forum, I've been using Swift since its release at 2014 and now it's the time to be a part of the community !

I'm Mostfa Essam. I'm very interested in working on the GSoC project Use SwiftSyntax itself to generate SwiftSyntax using SwiftSyntaxBuilder mentored by @ahoppen.

I've been reading and familiarizing myself with the codebase for the past two weeks.

recently, I've tried to generate some parts of SwiftRewriter.gyb.swift using SwiftSyntaxBuilder, here’s my work:

I've imported some python classes like Node, and Kind to be able to get an output which is very close to the one generated with GYB.

i would like to know what do you think about my work, and discuss some questions with you

Questions and Challanges

• Comments Generation
    As far as I can see SwiftSyntax/SwiftSyntaxBuilder doesn’t support comments, is this something we should prepare to implement?
    I know that A comment is always a part of the parse tree, but not the AST, how can we support this?)

• Code Generation Integration
    How can we integrate code generation into the build process? and how can we place SwiftSyntaxBuilder inside current source files ? Currently, I’m using SourceFile resultBuilder to check my results, i'm thinking about something like this:

/// SyntaxBuilder behaves like SourceFile, but when swift is built using build-script, it will be replaced with the code generated from the builder
SyntaxBuilder { 

/* valid Builder statements */
}
/* 
which can be a replacement for GYB Lines like the following ones

% for node in SYNTAX_NODES:
%   if is_visitable(node):
  open func visit(_ node: ${node.name}) -> ${node.base_type} {
    return ${node.base_type}(visitChildren(node))
  }

%   end
% end
*/
  • Finally, I can see some differences in the spacing of generated code, is this something we should handle?