[gsoc-2021] Data Structure Implementation - Swift

Hello @lorentey

I am Yan, or you can call me Frank. I am currently a second year computer science student at University of Montreal (Montreal, Canada). I have some experience with Java, Python and Javascript. I am also very interested in Swift (It is actually one of my favourite programming languages).

Among all the proposed ideas, I am quite interested in the data structure implementation for swift. Particularly, I am interested in adding a "linked list: structure. (Hope this qualifies as general-purpose data structure).

I have never done a project before, and this is the first time I even try to participate in such a project. This whole "contributing to open-source project" is very new and is certainly a new challenge for me. I expect to learn a lot as well.

I would appreciate if you can guide me through this! Furthermore, I do have some questions I would like to ask right now:

• Would you mind directing me to the resources that I must understand in order to start this project?
  • Is it possible to know what exactly I need to include in the proposal? (As this is my first time, I am not really familiar with making a proposal for a project)

Thanks a lot for your help! I look forward to your replies.

Yan (Frank)

2 Likes

Hi there Yan,
Karoy should be able to get back to you soon here :slight_smile:

In the meantime allow me to drop a link to the just announced Swift Collections where such collection would end up living: Swift.org - Introducing Swift Collections

I'll leave it to Karoy for project suggestions and judgement if this is enough for the GSoC project or not etc :+1:

2 Likes

Hi!

Thanks a lot! I noticed that he just released this today haha. I will certainly take a look at this :slight_smile:

Thanks again!

1 Like

Hi,