[GSoC 2020] Project Proposal: Renovating Swift's Reflection

Hello, my name is Alejandro Alonso and I'm currently studying computer science. For GSoC 2020, I want to propose building a new reflection solution for Swift. Now that Swift 5 has declared ABI stability for Darwin targets, it seems feasible to start building more powerful reflection solutions for Swift. Mirror has given developers a taste of the many capabilities that Swift can provide in the reflection space. However, there is much to be desired from Mirror that it currently doesn't support such as inspecting a type without an instance or dynamically setting an instance's field given a field name. I plan to publish a reflection manifesto, work with Swift evolution to design a reflection API, and implement some of the designed reflection capabilities.

Although this project idea was not a suggested, it's a topic that I've been very passionate about recently and would really appreciate it if someone would be willing to mentor me if this application is selected!

43 Likes