From C file descriptor to socket?

I'm doing a project where I want a server to stream ncurses data (ascii) to a client.

The ncurses newterm() function takes a C style file descriptor, which is where it sends the generated ascii codes (default fd is stdout). I'm stuck on how to get from here to sending to the client.

I can think of two possibilities:

1. Let a byte buffer emulate a file descriptor and give newterm() this "fake" file descriptor. If this works, it should then be easy (I hope) to send the contents of the buffer to the client. But I don't know if it's possible to emulate a file descriptor in this way. (Googling didn't help me.)

2. Connect the file descriptor in newterm() directly to a socket in some way, if this is possible.

I'm totally new to Swift, but know some C (so I'm ok with the C types if I could just get them to work with Swift...). Also, I understand that there are different socket libraries available -- is Swift NIO the best one to use for me? I'm using Swift 4.2 so I'm limited to Swift NIO 1 -- is this a problem? I could upgrade to 10.14 in order to get Swift 5 + Swift NIO 2 if that would help.

Any help would be much appreciated!

While I love that you’re excited about using SwiftNIO, it seems like it might be overkill here. If you need to pass a C file descriptor to your library, then you can just use the socket Layer directly, as sockets are file descriptors.

This will likely be easier than almost any other alternative.

lukasa wrote:

This will likely be easier than almost any other alternative.

Assuming your don’t care about security. IMO data like this should be going over TLS, and at that point SwiftNIO would be a good option.

Given that ncurses requires a file descriptor, you can call socketpair (or pipe), pass one end to ncurses, and monitor the other end for data that you send down the network connection.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!” @ DTS @ Apple