Force Unwrap a return?

I am new to Swift and as I am still learning the optionals and I was messing around trying to force unwrap.

I thought of a way and when I asked a dev he said it is not possible:

func getWeatherStatus (status: weatherType ) -> String! {
    switch status{
    case .cloud:
        return "It's gonna rain"
    case .sunny:
        return "It's hot"
    case .wind(let speed) where speed < 10:
        return "Not that windy"
    case .wind, .snowy:
        return nil
    }

}

let weatherStatus = getWeatherStatus(status: .cloud)
print(weatherStatus)

It is only possible to use ? and not ! to force unwrap so when I make an object of it then it is already unwrapped.. I wanted to know why is it not possible or can it be implemented in the future if I am sure enough that the func will not return nil it can be force unwrapped instead of having to use as! to not get optional result

If your intent is to crash in the .wind or .snowy conditions you can replace return nil with fatalError()—the compiler knows this function will end execution of the program and so won’t require a return along that branch of the function.

2 Likes

No no my intent is if I didn't have that nil and I am positive that it will not return nil why can't I just do this:

and create the object and print it

print(weatherStatus)

instead of doing that:

func getWeatherStatus (status: weatherType ) -> String? {

then having to force unwrap here:

let weatherStatus = getWeatherStatus(status: .cloud) as! String
print(weatherStatus)

I’m not sure I understand. If you don’t have that nil branch then the function can just return the type String and you don’t need to deal with optionals at all.

2 Likes

That's true but I was wondering since it is already possible to return optional why is it not possible to return that optional force unwrapped instead of having to unwrap it all over when I create the object.