Feature Request: Variable-length array with short-array optimization

My app has a bunch of cases where many arrays are created. Most of these arrays are expected to be fairly short (<= 3 elements), but the length of the longest arrays is potentially unbounded.

It would be great to have a data structure that could automatically store the first few elements inline to avoid allocating the array buffer altogether. For example, up to 7 Int8 s could be stored in the 8 bytes occupied by Array<Int8> before an allocation would be necessary. With some bit fiddling, it might even be possible to store a single pointer in a regular array's 8 bytes. I am not an expert on that, however; not sure how many bits are "left" for such purposes. For arrays larger than that, the implementation could "fall through" to a regular buffer-backed array.

I would also happily give up some stack space in exchange for saving these allocations. If I could store up to 3 pointers in a 24-byte data structure with the possibility of automatically expanding to the heap when those 3 slots are exceeded, I would be very happy. Given that ArrayBuffer already takes some heap space of its own (not sure how much off the top of my head, but definitely >= 8), I would "lose" at most 8 bytes in the "up to 3 case", potentially zero if ArrayBuffer takes >= 16 bytes on the heap.

Given that this library already implements ArrayN , I was wondering whether such use cases would be in scope for this.

4 Likes

LLVM has a SmallVector in which the number of inlined elements can be specified via a generic value parameter, i.e. SmallVector<UUID, 3>. This seems like the ideal approach if/when Swift gets generic value parameters.