Dynamic framework with embedded static frameworks within an XCFramework

Hi there! I’m new to creating and distributing binary frameworks so thanks in advance for your patience if I’ve overlooked known solutions.

My goal is to distribute a single Swift XCFramework to customers that requires only a single import to allow access to all public classes and methods.

The current structure is an Xcode 12-backed workspace created by CocoaPods, which integrates one project that contains a binary framework (FrameworkA) and one project that is just raw code (FrameworkB). Within that workspace are three other projects, each dedicated to a single framework (frameworks C, D, and E), and a final project that is used to gather all these other dependencies and act as the single point of access (CustomerFramework).

There is an additional project (TestHarness) within the workspace to act as a basic way to run tests, confirm functionality, etc.

The structure looks something like this:

Workspace
  - CocoaPods static binary framework (FrameworkA)
  - CocoaPods normal code projects (FrameworkB)
  - FrameworkC project
  - FrameworkD project
  - FrameworkE project
  - CustomerFramework project
  - Test harness project

CustomerFramework works as expected when run within TestHarness. Additionally, I can successfully create an XCFramework that contains Simulator and devices frameworks of CustomerFramework.

However, compilation fails when I try to use CustomerFramework.xcframework in a separate demo app. The swiftinterface shows imports for the expected modules (FrameworkA, FrameworkB, etc.) but Xcode raises an error of “No such module ‘FrameworkA’”.

import CustomerFramework <-- “ Failed to build module 'CustomerFramework' from its module interface”