Document Extensions to External Types Using DocC

Hi everyone! I'm excited to announce that I'll be working on [SR-15410] Can't document extensions with DocC · Issue #210 · apple/swift-docc · GitHub!

Since most of you probably haven't seen my name tag before: My name's Max, I'm studying informatics in Munich, Germany and I'm very excited to be contributing to the Swift ecosystem!

The question about DocC and how to document extensions to external types originated in the forum thread DocC and extensions? and it quickly became apparent that there are some important UX questions to be solved. Therefore I thought I'd kick of my contribution efforts with a pitch focused on the UX of this new feature.

First off, I want to thank everyone who participated in the forums post linked above, you'll probably find some of your ideas in my concept! Special thanks to @franklin for guiding me trough this process and his initial feedback on this pitch!

Introduction

DocC does not include extensions to a type defined in an external module in the documentation catalogue, even though the extension and its contents are declared in the documented module.

Consider the following potential addition to the SlothCreator package:

/// A type that generates sloths.
public protocol SlothGenerator {
    /// Generates a sloth in the specified habitat.
    func generateSloth(in habitat: Habitat) throws -> Sloth
}

public extension Collection where Element == Habitat {
    /// Generates one ``Sloth`` per ``Habitat`` in the collection.
    ///
    /// - Note: Unfortunately, neither this comment nor the function itself is included in
    /// the documentation catalogue yet.
    func mapToSloth(using generator: SlothGenerator) throws -> [Sloth] {
        try self.map(generator.generateSloth(in:))
    }
}

/// A type that generates names for sloths.
public protocol NameGenerator {
    /// Generates a name for a sloth.
    ///
    /// - parameter seed: A value that influences randomness.