Discarding inputs of a Swift Build Tool Plugin in the final product

Hi! I'm trying to build a Swift Build Tool Plugin that works both with Swift Packages and Xcode, the general idea is that it will get as input some JavaScript files and validate, mangle and merge them in a unified output file. This all works well, but I need to make sure the input files are not added to the final product. Is this possible to do in with the plugin?

My idea was to replace an existing Custom Build Script with this plugin but I don't see a way to do this only with the plugin currently.

Hi, I'm pretty new to plugins, but I think I just did something similar as a test.

I have a folder with a bunch of files that is excluded in the package that is then used by a plugin to create a single code file. None of the .txt files go into the build.

I followed along with WWDC 2022 Create Swift Package plugins, but I also recommend doing a search for " func createBuildCommands(" and other plugin related commands on github to see what other folks are doing.

from: PluginExplorer/Package.swift at main · carlynorama/PluginExplorer · GitHub

.executableTarget(
            name:"plugin-tester",
            dependencies: [
                .product(name: "ArgumentParser", package: "swift-argument-parser"),
            ],
            path:"Sources/PluginTesterCLI",
            exclude: ["Data"],
            plugins: ["MyInBuildPlugin", "MyPreBuildPlugin"]
        ),

from: PluginExplorer/Plugins/MyInBuildPlugin/plugin.swift at main · carlynorama/PluginExplorer · GitHub

@main
struct MyInBuildPlugin:BuildToolPlugin {
    func createBuildCommands(context: PackagePlugin.PluginContext, target: PackagePlugin.Target) async throws -> [PackagePlugin.Command] {
        //if target doesn't have source files, don't run the tool. 
        guard let target = target as? SourceModuleTarget else {
            return []
        }
        let dataDirectory = target.directory.appending(["Data"])