Crowdfunding world domination

Like many here, I find myself in the situation where I would love to contribute to Swift, but lack the time and/or skillset to do so. To give an example: As a lecturer, I would love nothing more than to promote Swift as a primary language in CS education. Unfortunately, that's not possible at the moment, due to several issues. Even though I cannot solve these issues myself, I would gladly donate to see them resolved.

If we really want to see our favorite language succeed in the outside world, we need much better cross-platform support, cross-platform tools, and so on. We cannot expect Apple to fund this, nor should we hope that some benevolent developer will offer up all his/her free time.

It would be great if Swift had a Foundation (like many other open source projects) that could accept our donations and use these to fund work the community needs. Has this ever been discussed?

25 Likes

We cannot expect Apple to fund this

Why not?

1 Like

Why not?

While Apple would benefit indirectly from Swift adoption outside of their ecosystem, I don't see them as a company that "gets" this sort of thing. While I do agree that they should fund certain things, like a Windows port, I don't expect them to. Beyond that, I estimate the chance of them funding e.g. a cross-platform IDE for Swift is close to 0.

They have done a great job on Swift so far, but I expect them to focus on their own needs, which is fair.

However, if there were an independent Swift Foundation, they might consider sponsoring that?

9 Likes

This is a great suggestion.