}

Interstingly, this also works well:

typedef int (^SambleBlock)(int a);

SambleBlock makeRenderBlock(int y) {
    return ^int(int a) {
        return y;
    };
}

I am not experienced C++ programmer, so I might be missing something obvious here?

This compiles fine for me (Xcode 15.1, swift 5.9.2)

Interesting, I have the same toolchain.

Can you try compiling this project:

I also see now it is somewhat random behaviour. Without any code changes, it sometimes compiles, sometimes now:

This also crashes for me.

Then I created .m (or .mm) and moved "makeRenderBlock" in there – with this change it compiles fine.

BTW, are you using C++ "significantly" (with Swift having to call some C++ functionality)? This is not the case here (note that ^blocks are Obj-C), but as I understand this is a simplified code. On many of my previous projects I used Obj-C interop only while using C++ in .mm files.

Thanks! That sounds like a reasonable workaround.

note that ^blocks are Obj-C
Aren't they technically C as mentioned here?

BTW, are you using C++ "significantly" (with Swift having to call some C++ functionality)?

I was interested in feasibility of using C++ interoperability to avoid AudioUnit Objective-C boilerplate, but also as an intermediate step to theoretical Swift only Audio development.

Blocks are "non-standard" Apple extensions to C, a feature that was ported back from Objective-C.

From my past experience, even if you don't do audio completely in Swift, the interop required is basically Swift <-> C (perhaps with blocks), and obviously C has no problem talking to C++. I'd still put that C++ into .mm to make life easier, but otherwise you don't have to use Obj-C "@interface" or "@implementation" or call objects via Obj-C bracket syntax, etc if that's what you wanted to avoid.

For that you may find this thread and this WWDC video (37:50 ... 42:25) interesting.