Combine and Swift Concurrency Interop: Unexpectedly dropping values

Hi there!

I am still learning swift concurrency so I admittedly might be missing some fundamental concepts that are leading to unexpected results.

Anyways, I am aware that other topics here say to tread carefully when mixing combine and swift concurrency as they tend to have different (and sometimes conflicting) opinions on how to deal with async and concurrent code.

However, I think my question still stands. Combine "conveniently" bridges to swift concurrency with the .values property on publisher... so surely it should work for relatively simple situations, right? :man_shrugging:

My situation is this: a single CurrentValueSubject which is "subscribed to" via a for-await-in loop. The subject is concurrently sent new values from many individual Tasks. I would expect the for-await-in loop to receive all values in indeterminate order. However, the for-await-in loop drops values. Interestingly, if I subscribe to the subject with a sink subscriber, I receive all of the values, consistently.

Aside: it seems that somewhere within Combine, a lock of some kind is being used to guarantee that subscribers do not receive values concurrently making them thread-safe from things like memory races (but not logical races). Can folks confirm this?

I think the reason for the distinction between "sinks" and "for-await-in" is because the sink subscriber requests unlimited values while the for-await-in loop requests a .max(1) between each iteration and the concurrent sends overwhelm it, thus dropped values.