Checking for multiple strings in an array

Hi,

I'm a beginner and I'm also new to this forum.

I have an array of strings, and I want to do something only if my array contains specific things. Is there a shorter/better way to write the following other than repeating && multiple times?

var array = ["red", "purple", "orange", "yellow", "pink", "green", "blue"]

if array.contains("red") && array.contains("blue") && array.contains("green") && array.contains("yellow") {
//do something
}

Hi @klausycat and welcome to the SE forums.

Here is a more advanced solution that does exactly the same as your solution (okay it creates an extra array instead of individual strings, but it computes the same value).

if ["red", "blue", "green", "yellow"].allSatisfy(array.contains) {
  print("works")
}

We can write the operation out in its full form.

let elements = ["red", "blue", "green", "yellow"]
let containsAll = elements.allSatisfy { (element: String) -> Bool in 
  return array.contains(element)
}

if containsAll {
  print("works")
}

Also note that array.contains(_:) is an O(n) operation because it will iterate the whole array over and over to check if the elements are present.

I'm no expert in things like performance costs for copying collections, but you can "potentially" optimize the speed (I leave the measurement to other people).

let set = Set(array)
if ["red", "blue", "green", "yellow"].allSatisfy(set.contains) {
  print("works")
}

In this case set.contains(_:) is an O(1) operation.

1 Like

You could use a Set instead of an Array like this:

var spectrum: Set = ["red", "purple", "orange", "yellow", "pink", "green", "blue"]

if spectrum.isSuperset(of: ["red", "blue", "green", "yellow"]) {
    // ...
}

Here, spectrum has to be a Set, but the argument to isSuperset(of:) can be any Sequence.

7 Likes

Thank you so much for the great answer and quick response! This is very helpful. I can't wait to try it on my project.