Bridging Swift Error Handling Model to C++ (GSoC)

Hello @Alex_L!

My name is Roberto Rosmaninho, and I’m currently in my last year as an undergrad Computer Science student at the Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais in Brazil. I'm looking forward to participating in this year's GSoC event with Swift. I'm very interested in the project concerning bringing the Swift Error Handling Model to C++.

I have a strong background in C++ and compiler design, especially in code generation using the LLVM C++ API. Although I don't have much experience with Swift, I'm very interested in learning the programming language and the structure of its compiler before the beginning of the development phase of the GSoC program to have as much knowledge as possible to develop this project. To that end, I would greatly appreciate any tips on how to become familiar with the language and the compiler, especially with what I'll need for this project.

This will be my second year on the GSoC program, as I participated last year in the LLVM Back-end for the Tensor Algebra Compiler project for the Python Software Foundation. Also, I previously contributed to the D Programming Language in their Symmetry Autumn of Code, a similar open-source program to GSoC, on the project MLIR Back-end for the D Programming Language. I am now very much looking forward to contributing to the Swift Community leading up to, during, and after GSoC!

As a C++ programmer and an Apple enthusiast I'm loving reading about Swift and C++ Interoperability on the forum. Therefore, I would love to know more about this project and its details to draft a formal proposal to debate it with you and the community!

Best regards,
Roberto Rosmaninho

12 Likes

Hey @Robertorosmaninho! Thanks for voicing out your interest in this.