Beginner question about Circles (SwiftUI)

Hello,

First off, not sure if this is the right place to post this question. I'm a newbie to Swift/iOS programming, but have some experience with other languages (Java, C/C++, etc.). If somebody could direct me to newbie resources, that would be awesome!!

I'm having some trouble understanding the Circle class and just class properties in general... say I have a view like so:

struct SunriseGraphic: View {
    var body: some View {
        Circle()
            .stroke(Color.orange, lineWidth: 4)
            .shadow(radius:10)
    }
}

This creates a circle with an orange border and a light shadow. Now if I want to add color to the center of the circle, I'm not sure what to do. I tried using .foregroundColor(.red) but nothing shows up. If I try adding this directly after the Circle() call, the other properties don't seem to be recognized anymore and I get the following errors:

Value of type 'some View' has no member 'stroke'

Protocol type 'Any' cannot conform to 'View because only concrete types can conform to protocols
Value of type 'Any' has no member 'shadow'
Cast 'Any' to 'AnyObject' or use 'as!' to force downcast to a more specific type to access members

I'm clearly doing something wrong and it's probably very simple but I'm not sure what to do. I tried looking at the Circle class in the Swift Developer docs provided by Apple but there doesn't seem to be much information.

I maybe wrong (Iā€™m not that familiar with SwiftUI), but a quick look at the docs for Circle shows that it conforms to the Shape protocol.

The Shape protocol has a function fill() which sounds like it maybe what you need. Incidentally, this is where the stroke() function is defined as well.

This is an example of Protocol Oriented Programming, which is a popular concept in Swift.

Shape Protocol docs

2 Likes

You are not wrong, Apple's API is wrong :laughing: :laughing: I'm kidding (or maybe not).