Auto Unwrapping Of Optionals

I'm new to the swift evolution community, but I wanted to toss an idea out there to get some feedback on it. So here it goes...

Currently, if you assign a non-nil value to an optional and then want to access that optional later, in the same context, you need to manually unwrap the value. This is usually done either by using "!" or by using something like "if let" or guard.

What would it be like if the compiler could auto unwrap, in cases where in knows the optional will have some value? This would make the code "clean" and still be safe.

This concept of Auto Unwrapping of Optionals is similar to Implicitly Unwrapped Optionals, but is only applied when the compiler knows it is safe to do so.

Take the following example:

class Test {
    var today: NSDate? = nil
    func test() {
        today = today ?? NSDate()
        print("Today is \(today)") // Would be printed as an optional
        let timeInterval: NSTimeInterval = today!.timeIntervalSinceNow // Requires ! or (if let) to unwrap
        // ... do stuff with timeInterval ...
    }
}

With the above example, the compiler could known that today has a value after it's set in the test method. So why couldn't the compiler auto unwrap it when accessed? This would mean manual unwrapping would be unnecessary:

class Test {
    func test() {
        print("Today is \(today)") // Would be printed as a value (not an optional)
        let timeInterval: NSTimeInterval = today.timeIntervalSinceNow // No ! required (auto unwrapped)
    }
}

If the value later gets set to an optional value, then it will no longer be auto unwrapable :

class Test {

func optionalDay() -> NSDate? {
        return NSDate()
    }

func test() {
        let timeInterval: NSTimeInterval = today.timeIntervalSinceNow // No ! required (auto unwrapped)
        let timeInterval2: NSTimeInterval = today!.timeIntervalSinceNow // Explicit unwrapping would still be allowed