AsyncSequence / Stream version of PassthroughSubject or CurrentValueSubject?

Hello everyone,

I have searched for couple of hours on async sequence / stream (I am still new to the swift concurrency) and can not find anything that resembles a PassthroughSubject or CurrentValueSubject from Combine which I can easily bridge from imperative code (think delegates from CoreLocation, CoreBluetooth etc.).
Can someone point me to a documentation for such type if it exists or share some resource on how to implement one if available?

If I use the above examples I would want to achieve something like

for await location in locationService.locationsSequence {
  print(location)
}

Thank you in advance :slight_smile:

1 Like

I don't think there's a real subject equivalent yet. There's some work going on in the AsyncAlgorithms package, but we don't have the full multicast capabilities of Combine. There's AsyncChannel (sp?) but the equivalent send(_:) function is async and isn't the fire-and-forget API that a Combine Subject permits.

One thing that I've been using as a stop gap is to wrap a Subject in an AsyncStream. This leans on Combine's multicasting capabilities while we wait for some enhanced multicasting capabilities.

Essentially, create a new new AsyncStream for each subscriber that wraps the subject you wish to multicast.

I would typically create a convenience along the lines of:

final class SomeClass {

private let someTypeSubject = PassthroughSubject<SomeType, Never>() 

public var someTypeStream: AsyncStream<SomeType> {
        AsyncStream { continuation in
            let cancellable = self.someTypeSubject.sink { continuation.yield($0) }
            continuation.onTermination = { continuation in
                cancellable.cancel()
            }
        }
    }
}
4 Likes

I just looked at AsyncChannel from AsyncAlgorithms and seems the closest to PassthroughSubject. Gonna take it for a spin.
Thanks for the suggestion

2 Likes