Array of types of types

In Rust, there is something called a TypeId which is universally unique identifier for a type, is there an analogue of this in swift?
What I want to do is have an array of the types of types. I read about the metatype, but metatype isn't actually type. I tried something like:

struct SomeStruct{}
struct SomeStruct2{}
let ar=[SomeStruct.Type, SomeStruct2.Type]

But Xcode complains about this being a heterogeneous array and resolves the type as [Any]. Is there a more idiomatic way to do this in swift? Or should I just use Any? I'm extremely new to the language (started learning it yesterday), so forgiveness if this sounds dumb.

1 Like

Your array should be [SomeStruct.self, SomeStruct2.self] instead of using .Type. That’s because SomeStruct.self is an instance of the metatype SomeStruct.Type, and arrays need to hold actual values not types.

But as you mention, you can’t do that because arrays are homogeneous and you want to store instances of different (meta)types. What you’re looking for is probably ObjectIdentifier, with which you can write:

let ar: [ObjectIdentifier] = [ObjectIdentifier(SomeStruct.self), ObjectIdentifier(SomeStruct2.self)]

Hope this helps! Good luck with learning Swift and good job for reaching this level at day 2.

2 Likes

Thank you! I'll try that.

Is it possible to create a generic function that would be able to do this, like so:

func oi<T,U>()->[ObjectIdentifier]{
return [ObjectIdentifier(T.self),ObjectIdentifier(U.self)]
}

Swift complains that the generic parameter isn't used in function signature

It is possible to hold onto an array of types, but they must be explicitly erased to Any.Type:

struct SomeStruct {}
struct SomeStruct2 {}
let ar: [Any.Type] = [SomeStruct.Type, SomeStruct2.Type]

From here you could map them all to ObjectIdentifier if you need a unique/hashable type:

let ids = ar.map(ObjectIdentifier.init)
1 Like

@stephencelis’s solution is the most appropriate for your use case.