An NIO NetworkClient class for SwiftUI needs help!

I know it's mostly to do with threading, but I'm a novice and completely lost.

I've been fooling around for more weeks than I care to remember, trying to get a simple TCP Client class working in a SwiftUI macOS application. My NIO json server is working fine and so is my macOS command line client application. Both are reincarnated from the official GitHub examples, NIOEchoServer and NIOEchoClient, but I've failed to get the Client code ported into a SwiftUI app.

The Swift-NIO team do say that NIO can be used as a client, but I can't find a single example for the UI case. So please, I'm begging for one of you capable people to show me the way.

Here's the interface I'm aiming for...

// A Simple TCP Network Client Class for SwiftUI

typealias ResponseCallbackType = (_ response: MyResponseStruct) -> Void

final class MyNetworkClient {

// not shown here...
    // there also needs to be an Error type with message
    // that can be returned with each public function

public func connect(host: String, port: Int, @escaping responseCallback: ResponseCallbackType) {
        // switch to the NIO thread
        // create and connect to a simple tcp server
        // KISS with no http, https, tls, ssh, etc
        // switch back to the MAIN thread
    }

public func disconnect() {
        // close everything, so its ready for next time
    }

public func request(request: MyRequestStruct) {
        // encode to json and send
    }

// MARK: Private Functions and a Response Handler

private final class MyResponseHandler: ChannelInboundHandler {
        // response = decode from incoming data
        // switch to the MAIN thread
        // callback responseCallback(response: response)
        // return to the NIO thread
    }

//  private functions follow...
}

Note: I'm currently using Xcode 12.5.1 on macOS 11.4.