Accessing attributes stored in a generic list

Hi Everyone,

I am still pretty new to Swift and have been trying to implement a node graph, and have hit a wall.

I am trying to store a list of ports, that could be made up of different generic types. I have tried to implement it using Generics and protocols. Where I get stuck is how to I convert the anyObject or Any back into a Plug

Thanks for any assistance

Regards,

Simon

//———————————————————————————————

protocol genericPlug {
    associatedtype dataType
    var value:dataType? {set get}
}

class Plug<T>: genericPlug {
    typealias dataType = T
    var value:dataType?
    var name:String

init (name:String, value:T){
        [self.name](http://self.name) = name
        self.value = value
    }
}

var plugs: [AnyObject] = []
// I have also tried with [genericPlug]

var plug_1 = Plug(name:"input", value:0)
var plug_2 = Plug(name:"output", value:0)

plugs.append(plug_1)
plugs.append(plug_2)

var plug_3 = Plug(name:"input2", value:16.0)
plugs.append(plug_3)

var doublePlg = Plug(name:"a_plug", value:[2.1, 3.0])
var intListPlg = Plug(name:"array_plug", value:[2, 1, 34])

plugs.append(doublePlg)
plugs.append(intListPlg)

intListPlg.value
doublePlg.value

plugs[3].value[0] + plugs[2].value

So it's going to be hard to do exactly what you're trying to do here, because by putting all your plugs into an array, you will necessarily lose information about what each plug's particular dataType is. And that means when you get to this line:

plugs[3].value[0] + plugs[2].value

the compiler has no way of knowing what type plugs[3].value[0] and plugs[2].value are. For instance, for all the compiler knows, plugs[2].value is could be a String and plugs[3].value[0] could be a UInt32.

So the quick-and-dirty answer to this is, if you want to preserve type information in a group of objects, you could use a tuple:

let plugs = (
    plug1,
    plug2,
    plug3,
    doublePlg,
    intListPlg
)

plugs.3.value[0] + plugs.2.value