Access control below public [not `protected`]

Dear Swift community and core team, please don't judge me too much or scream at me just because I want to talk about this particular topic with you. I hope we can have a nice, constructive and democratic conversation here. I'm not a compile engineer, so my words can be wrong or wrongly interpreted since I'm not eloquent nor am I a native English speaker.

The current status quo of the access control below public is that we wanted to find a better default for private last year to fade out fileprivate, by making private a little bit more like fileprivate but limiting it to the type. The Swift community - from my point of view - is sliced in two halfs. One half moves a lot of type related computation and type internal API into extensions and different files, the other half may not care about such code organizations and stack everything into one giant file. For some reason the access control seems to prioritize the second half and is still completely inflexible for the first half of Swift developers. If you take a deep breath and think for a second then you may start to realize that fileprivate has lost it's weight, at least from the naming perspective. fileprivate really is not an access modifier that allows access to private type members but an access modifier that grants visibility to the type member only in the current file. If we put that with different words then it becomes a file internal access modifier.