Ability to provide package documentation for contributors as opposed to clients?

I am in the midst of developing a package which will be an open source project.

I find that there are two audiences I need to write documentation for:

• Clients who need documentation about the public interface and how to use it.
  • Contributors who need documentation about code internals: architecture, internal and private types, etc.

I am new to using DocC, but reading documentation and watching WWDC sessions, it seems like the current focus of DocC is around client documentation.

Are there any facilities to support contributor documentation as well?

For example, a way to generate documentation that includes articles geared towards contributors as well as non-public symbols in a separate documentation bundle?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and insights.

we likely cannot provide documentation about private declarations, but fundamentally there is nothing preventing us from generating internal documentation at the symbol graph level.

i experimented with this a while ago on Swiftinit but got massive pushback from users who did not want non-public symbols showing up in the generated pages. so i’m not sure if there’s an approach that can satisfy everyone, at least for docs hosted on the internet.

1 Like

Thank you @taylorswift.

I don't know enough about DocC internals to know what is and isn't possible. I can definitely understand folks wanting only public symbols for client documentation.

It seems like DocC itself has client / user documentation at https://www.swift.org/documentation/docc.

But there is also DocC contributor / internals documentation at https://apple.github.io/swift-docc/documentation/swiftdocc.

I am guessing there isn't a common convention for doing this, for example including a document catalog "Internals.docc" or some well-known name to generate a second bundle from a package.

I'm not sure that @taylorswift is entirely accurate here.