Where to start if you want to extend `Any`

Hello there, I would like to implement (or at least learn and try) a proof of concept implementation of the with function from this thread:

[Pitch] Circling back to with

Disclaimer: I have no experience in compiler development (I only read this tutorial a few years ago: Kaleidoscope Tutorial — LLVM 16.0.0git documentation) and my C++ knowledge is at it's very basics. However I'm willing to learn more and build things the way they should be build. That said, please bear with me.

My personal goals (click to unfold)
  • Setup the Swift project on my local computer and make it compile first

• Make a small change somewhere and see if it's still compiles

• Discard that test

• Search some code which already extends Any and to learn from it

• If I remember correctly KeyPath does it somewhere according to the original proposal, but I couldn't find the code yet. If someone can pin-point me to a simple function on Any that would be great. (cc. @Joe_Groff )
  • Extend Any with a simple small function like func fooOnAny() { print("does it work?") } to test whether or not the implementation worked

• Reverting the simple function and tackling the with function

• Writing tests and documentation for the with function

• If everything goes well providing the implementation for the proposal and tackle the review

Furthermore I would love to document my learning curve here so other people starting with their first contribution like me can benefit from it and don't make the same mistakes I might run into during the whole process.

Constructive feedback is always much appreciated.

Best regards,
Adrian

3 Likes

Where the keypath proposal says "effectively add the following subscripts" and then shows the example with extension Any, it really means "hack the compiler to make it look like everything has these subscripts". It's not extending Any in a normal sense.