What does Sourcekit-LSP support?

At the bottom of the README in the SourceKit-LSP repo there is a list of features that are supported. These are general features and don't always have a one to one correspondence with the LSP spec. Is there a list anywhere that includes the support available based on the specification messages
eg
completion: ✓
completionResolve: ✓
hover: ✓
signatureHelp: :x:
declaration: ✓
etc

Not currently, but it would be reasonable to add if you were so inclined.

The reason I ask is because I am working on the new SSWG Swift VSCode extension and I'm wondering what extra information I can extract from the LSP server on top of doing your standard name completion. I'm fairly new to LSP so I am firing various requests at the server just to see what I get back. Sometimes I have success, sometimes I don't. I don't know if this is because I am sending rubbish or the message is not supported.

One thing I was looking at was seeing if I could do test discovery using the DocumentSymbolRequest. I can get a list of classes and member functions for a file from it. The only piece of information I can't get is whether a class inherits from XCTestCase. Is this something that is doable?

I've only just started on this so be prepared over the next few weeks for a barrel load of questions.

1 Like

If you're doing this in code, you could use the "server capabilities" to see what requests we support. It may even depend on language in cases where clangd supports something but we don't have swift support, or vice-versa.

From a quick scan, we implement all the LSP requests listed under "language features" in the 3.16 spec with the following exceptions:

• completionItem/resolve though there is a PR
  • textDocument/signatureHelp
  • textDocument/declaration
  • textDocument/typeDefinition
  • textDocument/codeLens, codeLens/*
  • textDocument/documentLink, documentLink/resolve
  • textDocument/*formatting
  • textDocument/rename, textDocument/prepareRename