URLResourceValue.creationDate is nil on Windows

Hi all, I'm new to Swift and have been playing around with it on Windows and Linux. Given the following code:

import Foundation

let fm = FileManager.default
let path = URL(fileURLWithPath: Bundle.main.resourcePath!)

let files = try! fm.contentsOfDirectory(at: path, 
                    includingPropertiesForKeys: [.nameKey, .creationDateKey], 
                    options: .skipsHiddenFiles)

for file in files {
    let fileAttributes = try! file.resourceValues(forKeys: [.nameKey, .creationDateKey])

let formatter = DateFormatter()
    formatter.dateStyle = .short
    formatter.timeStyle = .medium

let formattedName = fileAttributes.name ?? "unknown name"
    let formattedDate = fileAttributes.creationDate.map { formatter.string(from: $0) } 
        ?? "unknown date"

print("Found \(formattedName), created at \(formattedDate)")
}

The creationDate is populated for Linux but not Windows. I'm not sure whether this is an actual issue or just an expected quirk of Windows. Is there some configuration I'm missing with FileManager in order to have access to creationDate on Windows or is it possible this is a bug?

swift --version gives me:

compnerd.org Swift version 5.3-dev (LLVM e471fa48a152468, Swift 70859e867e36bbd)
Target: x86_64-unknown-windows-msvc

Other info:

Windows 10 build: 18362.1082
Build tools version: MSVC v142 - VS 2019 C++ x64/x86 build tools (v14.27)
Windows SDK installed: 10.0.18362.0

This seems like a bug in Foundation! Would you mind creating a JIRA report for this? (Please do tag it with WIndows).

I can definitely reproduce this with a simple test case. It seems that for some reason Foundation is failing to retrieve the creation time for the files.

Will do, thanks for checking into it! I'll update this thread with the JIRA number once I create it.

Edit: SR-13617 created to report this issue. @compnerd, let me know if there's anything about the report that can be improved.