Unique element from array with no repeat using random.element()?

Hello! Beginner here with limited English

I am trying to use randomElement() to pick one dictionary from my multi-dictionary array (data from JSONfile). However, I realised randomElement() can repeat the same element previously picked! :frowning: What do you recommend I do to this code snippet?

func randomWord() {

guard let jsonURL = Bundle.main.url(forResource: "vocabList", withExtension: "json") else {
        return}

guard let jsonString = try? String(contentsOf: jsonURL, encoding: String.Encoding.utf8) else {return}

var vocabData: [VocabData]? //from my Struct file
    do {
        vocabData = try JSONDecoder().decode([VocabData].self, from: Data(jsonString.utf8))
    } catch {
        print(error)
    }

if let randomVocab = vocabData?.randomElement() { // have one dictionary picked randomly from Array and able to access its properties

definitionLabel.text = randomVocab.Definition
    chineseLabel.text = randomVocab.Chinese
    pinyinLabel.text = randomVocab.Pinyin } else {print("no randomVocab")
// this works perfectly, but I don't want to randomElement() to pick an element for next time if previously picked
    }
}

You can shuffle the array, then keep poping the last element.

1 Like

Hi Lantua, thank you so much for taking the time to help ^^

I am not sure what you mean by "poping the last element?" Could you provide a code example please?

After you get the shuffled array. You'd want to get the first or last element since it's easy (and fast) to retrieve. You then also want to remove the retrieved element since you don't want to use it again. So you can pretty much do:

var item: Item?
if !array.isEmpty {
  item = array.removeLast()
}

You can't use removeLast if the array is empty (it'll crash), so you need to check it first.

Is randomElement() still needed? This is how I tried to do it:

vocabData?.shuffle()