Swift ui issues

off-topic

(Kishore) #1

Hello! I am new to swift. I created a sign up page. There is an error in the line where I define the function namely ‘saveitem’. And because of that I am getting build failed. Also I am not able to access main story board. Kindly help.

import UIKit
import CoreData

class SignUpController: UIViewController {

@IBOutlet weak var userNameField: UITextField!
@IBOutlet weak var emailField: UITextField!
@IBOutlet weak var passwordField: UITextField!

override func viewDidLoad() {
    super.viewDidLoad()
    // Do any additional setup after loading the view, typically from a nib.

}

@IBAction func signUpAction(_ sender: Any) {

if emailField.text != "" {
        let toastView = ToastView()
        toastView.showAddedTo(view: self.view, message: "Email Id cannot be empty")
        return
    }

if passwordField.text != "" {
        toastView.showAddedTo(view: self.view, message: "Password cannot be empty")
        return
    }

if userNameField.text != "" {
        toastView.showAddedTo(view: self.view, message: "Username cannot be empty")
        return
    }

saveItem(dict: NSMutableDictionary(dictionary: ["userName":userNameField.text,"email":emailField.text,"password":passwordField.text]))
}

func saveItem(dict: NSMutableDictionary){
    let context = (UIApplication.shared.delegate as! AppDelegate).persistentContainer.viewContext

//**Note:** Here we are providing the entityName **`Entity`** that we have added in the model
    let entity = NSEntityDescription.entity(forEntityName: "Users", in: context)
    let myItem = NSManagedObject(entity: entity!, insertInto: context)
    print(myItem)
    myItem.setValuesForKeys(dict as! [String : Any])

do {
        try context.save()
    }
    catch{
        print("There was an error in saving data")
    }
}

Hi! Welcome to the swift forums. :)