Sanity check: docs.swift.org's LanguageGuide -- result of "Int(stringName)" is sometimes an Int? but other times an Int

I'm new to Swift, just reading thru the introductory documentation. I'm surprised by some discussion in that introductory documentation, here:

https://docs.swift.org/swift-book/LanguageGuide/TheBasics.html

From the discussion in the sections "Optionals" and then "Optional Binding", do I correctly understand that the code fragment

let convertedNumber = Int("123")

yields the inferred type Int? (an optional Int) for the constant convertedNumber,
but the code fragment

if let actualNumber = Int("123") {

yields the inferred type Int for the constant actualNumber ?

Do I have that right?
And Swift does the latter (infers Int) within "if" and "while" tests, but nowhere else?

If I'm wrong, please enlighten me.
If I've got that right, then may I suggest modifying the document to better clarify when Swift does the one vs the other? I find it surprising & quite subtle.

Thanks in advance!

-.-.-.-

Note that within the document, the code samples are actually:
Under the heading "Optionals":

1. let possibleNumber = "123"
2. let convertedNumber = Int(possibleNumber)
3. // convertedNumber is inferred to be of type "Int?", or "optional Int"

And under heading "Optional Binding":

if let actualNumber = Int(possibleNumber) {
    print("The string \"\(possibleNumber)\" has an integer value of \(actualNumber)")

I think you have it right. (Though sometimes your choice of words is slightly unexpected, so maybe there is a misunderstanding somewhere.)

It does so whenever you use it as a condition. Technically that includes a few other places, but if and while are the main ones, and they are the only ones that are beginner‐friendly. As long as you understand the nature of using it as a condition, the other places will be intuitive when you eventually encounter them.