New to Swift and Vapor. Returning data from MySQL

So, as per the title, I'm new to Vapor and Swift in general, so I've been battling for about a month now trying to get things to return from an existing database.

We're using Vapor 3.

I'm coming from PHP, and of course, we have a database already. For a range of reasons, Fluent's migration system isn't an option for us. We don't want it to be screwing with the database when we build.

With that said, I've set up a model, and have been attempting to run queries on it. It builds successfully, and then gives the error:

{"error":true,"reason":"Model.defaultDatabase is required to use request as DatabaseConnectable."}

Our configure.swift looks like this.

import Vapor
import Leaf
import MySQL

public func configure(
    _ config: inout Config,
    _ env: inout Environment,
    _ services: inout Services
) throws {

// Register routes to the router
let router = EngineRouter.default()
try routes(router)
services.register(router, as: Router.self)

let myService = NIOServerConfig.default(port: 8080)
services.register(myService)

try services.register(LeafProvider())
try services.register(MySQLProvider())

config.prefer(LeafRenderer.self, for: ViewRenderer.self)

/// Register custom MySQL Config
let mysqlConfig = MySQLDatabaseConfig(
    hostname: "<ip>",
    port: 3306,
    username: "<user>",
    password: "<password>",
    database: "<database>"
)
services.register(mysqlConfig)

}

Our model is written to the standard expressed here: https://docs.vapor.codes/3.0/mysql/fluent/#model

And our controller has this:

import Vapor
import FluentMySQL

final class NewsController {

func index(_ req: Request) throws -> Future<View> {
    let news = News.query(on: req).all()
	return try req.view().render("newsIndex", news)
}
}

Any idea where I'm going wrong?