MacOS + Xcode + Swift + Observable Object : Xcode says I need to include arguments when creating observable object class

Hello,
I am new to Swift. I am attempting to create an initial view with a Navigation pane that includes a Navigation Link. After I select the Navigation Link I can display a different view but am unable to redraw the navigation pane and its navigation link with new button text and destination. It is my understanding that I could create a state variable in the initial view and when its value changed the navigation panel would be redrawn. Unfortunately I could never figure out how to change the state variable in the view.
So I thought I could use an observable object and set it in each view to display the desired Navigation Link. Unfortunately my class creation line fails. Xcode thinks I need to add arguments. I have no idea what arguments it is referring to. Any help in pointing me in the right direction will be appreciated.
Below is my code:

Chris

localObject.firstPass = true is not permitted in the top-level of a type. Consider putting this code in the initializer:

struct ContentView: View {

@ObservedObject var localObject = ObjectToBeObserved()

init() {
        localObject.firstPass = true
    }

// the rest can be the same as in your post above

}

Regarding firstPass - I can see that it is already initialised to true in the ObjectToBeObserved.init(), so you don't need any extra code in ContentView.

But I also see another problem.

@ObservedObject is for objects that are passed from the outside, and owned by something else - often @StateObject, another ObservableObject or some UIKit entity owning HostingController.

Since there are no other views in question, I guess you want ContentView to own ObjectToBeObserved, so you should use @StateObject instead of @ObservedObject.

struct ContentView: View {
    @StateObject var localObject = ObjectToBeObserved()
    var body: some View {
        ChildView(localObject: localObject)
    }
}