Looking for help to finish a master setup for macOS system

Hello,

as an Apple administrator, I wrote a complete shell to install and set a complete macOS system on new computers. I've a 250 systems park to drive.

Using shell bash, I use some commands as :

• "scutil", "networksetup", "systemsetup" or "dsconfigad" to preset Network capabilities,
  • "dscl" to create account
  • and also install lot of softwares using "hdiutil", "installer" and "rm" or "cp" for files.

My shell program is build as a modern code with a main process and a lot of functions.

I design with xCode a new application with menus and something more pretty than Terminal. All is ready, only each piece of menu items need to be compose.

I can't find or understand how to replace those above shell functions with Swift functions.

I will be very happy to find with your help some pieces of code to do that.

We I can give a more detailed answer tomorrow but you could use Process to call parts of your script as needed from a UI for example.

https://developer.apple.com/documentation/foundation/process

Can you give me a bit more on what you mean? Do you want to interact with the scripts with a swift app or UI? That’s what I assume by your comment.

I can't find or understand how to replace those above shell functions
with Swift functions.

This isn’t an easy question to answer because it touches on a number of tricky issues:

• Privilege escalation — Most of these operations require privileges, but a macOS GUI app runs without privileges. The standard way to resolve this paradox is to split your code into an app and a privileged helper tool (as shown by the EvenBetterAuthorizationSample sample code) but this is hard to do correctly.