Improve CLI User Experience

Hi everyone, @NeoNacho @abertelrud @tomerd

I'm Hemanth, I completed Bachelor of Engineering in Information Science in August 2021.

I am proficient with Swift and also have basic knowledge of command line. I have made couple apps with SwiftUI.

This year for GSoC 2022 I am interested in the project "Improve CLI User Experience" for Swift Package Manager. This is my first time participating in GSoC and I'm new to open source contributions. So please let me know what I need to do for this project.

Here's my GitHub profile: hemanthpulimi (Hemanth) · GitHub

Thank you.

2 Likes

Hi @hemanthpulimi and thank you for your interest in the project.

SwiftPM is Swift's dependency management tool and can be used from the command line and from IDEs.
The project focus is on improving the command line experience which boils down to two parts:

1. Input: How users pass arguments, options, flags and get help around these.
  2. Output: How SwiftPM emits output to users which includes direct output, indirect output (side effects), progress, errors and warnings.

For user input, SwiftPM uses Swift Argument Parser (GitHub - apple/swift-argument-parser: Straightforward, type-safe argument parsing for Swift) - a library that helps parse command line arguments.
Potential improvements in this context are mostly optimizing the definition of available command line arguments:

• Audit inputs for consistency on language and style
  • Making options type safe
  • Logical grouping
  • Expanding and improving the help and usage explanations

For user output, SwiftPM outputs to the stdout and stderr, including progress indicators for operations like downloading or fetching dependencies.