Diagnostics excersice

Hello everyone! I'm new at the compiler and have been reading a lot on how it works, as an exercise I want to try and implement a warning in the code. I'm trying to set a warning if the 2 arguments in the same function have the same type. However I'm not sure on what part of the parser should I work. Taking into account what I have read it should be somewhere after the tokens are brougth from Lex but I can't figure out where are the arguments of a function parsed to call the diagnostic. I have set the message in the DiagnosticsSema.def but I'm still looking for the place to make the diagnostic.

Any help or guide would be appreciated!!

Welcome to the project!

A good place to start looking might be Parser::parseSingleParameterClause in ParsePattern.cpp. This is the function responsible for parsing the parameter lists of functions, subscripts, initializers, etc. I'd recommend taking a look at how it's used by its various callers to understand how it works. Depending on your goals and what you want to learn, this might not be the best place to implement the diagnostic though. If you do go this route and implement it in the Parser, you should also move your diagnostic message from DiagnosticsSema.def to DiagnosticsParse.def.

The reason why implementing this diagnostic in the parser might not do what you want is because it wouldn't be able to detect a situation like this:

typealias Bar = Int
func foo(a: Int, b: Bar) {}