Convenience initializer doesn't exist when linking

I thought it would be interesting to write a cross-platform game that uses swift instead of Unity, developing a 2D engine that mimics a subset of SpriteKit's API, but implemented in SDL for the Linux/Windows versions. I'm more familiar with Linux development, but have a Mac as well, so I'm a Swift newbie. I've encountered a strange error, which seems like a bug in the toolchain, but could be some weird quirk in Swift that I don't understand.

I wrote my own version of SKTileMapNode which has these initializers:

public convenience init(tileSet: SKTileSet, columns: Int, rows: Int, tileSize: CGSize)
    {
        self.init(tileSet: tileSet, columns: columns, rows: rows, tileSize: tileSize)
    }

public convenience init(tileSet: SKTileSet, columns: Int, rows: Int,
                            tileSize: CGSize, fillWith: SKTileGroup)
    {
        self.init(tileSet: tileSet, columns: columns, rows: rows,
                  tileSize: tileSize, optionalFillWith: fillWith)
    }

private init(tileSet: SKTileSet, columns: Int, rows: Int, tileSize: CGSize,
                 optionalFillWith fillWith: SKTileGroup?) { ... }

Then I derived a subclass from it with this initializer:

init(tileSize: Int, viewSize: CGSize) {
    super.init(tileSet: ..., columns: ..., rows: ..., tileSize: CGSize(width: ..., height: ...))
}

This subclass worked on the Mac with the "real" SKTileMapNode, and sourcekit-lsp also thinks it's OK on Linux, but when I try to build the project on Linux, I get this error:

error: undefined reference to '$s7Repton213SKTileMapNodeC7tileSet7columns4rows0E4SizeAcA0bF0C_S2i10Foundation6CGSizeVtcfc'

The line number refers to the line where I call super.init(...) in the custom subclass. I've fixed the problem by removing the convenience initializers from SKTileMapNode and changing the private one to:

public init(tileSet: SKTileSet, columns: Int, rows: Int,