Codable? or something else?

I'm new to swift, but have been an infra engineer for a long time so while I may not be making the next programming language or operating system, I can ruby my way out of a wet paper bag usually.

I'm trying to write an implementation of the AX.25 protocol in Swift. I recognize this is a huge undertaking, but that's fine :) The part I'm working on right now is just parsing the frames.

Very high level format:
7 bytes for "to", 7 bytes for "from", 0 or more 7 bytes fields of repeaters, 1 or 2 bytes for frame type and other metadata (depending on if it's a modulo128 or modulo8 frame, something that is not part of the frame but state in the stack and negotiated at connection time, so supplied from outside) and then some data.

There are 3 major frame types, I, S, and U, and each of those has different ways of parsing the frame type / metadata field (though the frame type itself is always in the same place in the frame type field regardless of modulo. The U frame type has several subtypes as well, and while the S frame type seems like it might, really those are just a 2 bit flag on the frame and aren't really distinct types.

So here's kinda the hierachy I'm thinking of

• Frame
    • S frame
    • I frame
    • U frame
      • UI frame
      • TEST frame
      • etc.

So far the guidance I've found online says I should have, at least to start, 3 structs, one for each of the main types, and a protocol that defines the common parts for the frame (from, to, repeaters). But I'm trying to figure out how to take that chunk of bytes and actually parse it and return an instance of the correct frame type. I've got a handle on the actual extraction of info (github) so now I'm trying to organize things properly and try to Swift-ify things.