Build commands for several scenarios for Swift on Windows

Hi all.

I am a Windows programmer new to Swift, and I have found and/or figured out the build commands for a number of scenarios on Windows that I would like to publish. It took a fair amount of digging to find the exact options needed, especially to first get debugging working, and then to debug from a Swift main into a C DLL. I'd just like to help any future Windows Swift newbies.

What I have are the swiftc, clang, and lldb commands needed to compile, link, and debug the cases below. There are no uses of the swift package manager here (possibly a future topic).

So, does such a command summary sound useful? Or has it been done already and it was just that I hadn't been able to find it?

If useful, where would be a good place to locate this, so that new Windows Swift users would easily find it?

100% Swift

• hello world - 1 source file
  • hello world - 2 source files
  • hello world - a main executable module (2 source files), and a dll module (2 source files)

100% C

• hello world - 1 source file
  • hello world - a main executable (2 source files), and a dll module (2 source files)

50% Swift, 50% C, both built with DWARF debug info

• hello world - a Swift main executable module (2 source files), and a C dll module (2 source files)

Thanks for any guidance!

While I personally don't find that to be useful, I might not be the best judge of the utility of this collection.

However, given that this is primarily focused on the non-SPM use case, I believe that the better way to encourage new users to determine these commands is technically by encouraging them to not do that in the first place. CMake provides an abstraction for this and if needed or desired, the user can always look at the generated invocation.