[Breaking change for Swift 6] Infer return type `Never` when every exit path throws

The idea is fairly simple, however I'm no compiler engineer so I cannot tackle the implementation side of it.

Anyways, with potentially typed throws somewhere on the horizon we should change the inferred return type for closures.

let foo = {
  throw MyError.bar
}

// currently: () throws -> Void
// after: () throws -> Never

If the complier can guarantee that every exit path throws, then it should infer Never as a default return type.

This would align well with Result<Never, MyError>.

The following example the closure is still unaffected as not every exit path throws:

let baz = {
  if someCondition {
    print("swift")
  } else {
    throw MyError.bar
  }
}

// baz: () throws -> Void

If someone would like to provide an implementation and write a formal proposal, I'd be more than happy to pass the idea over!

4 Likes

I don’t think this is desirable until Never is made into a universal bottom type. E.g. if a closure parameter expects something throwing that returns void, returning Never would be prohibitive as it is today.

7 Likes

If foo had the () throws -> Never signature as pitched, it would be your responsibility to expect the thrown error and extract or forward it properly.

do {
  try foo()
  print("never reached") // warning unreachable code
} catch {
  print("always prints: \(error)")
}

In your particular case you already said it yourself, the closure parameter expects something. The expectation of a parameter is not defined until someone writes it. I'm not arguing to remove the ability to write (() throws -> Void) rethrows -> Void. I'm arguing about the inferred default return type in case all exit paths are known to never be reached because of throw.