Are Text View and Image View the only Options for UI?

I'd like to create a circle and manipulate it, as SPCCore allows on Swift Playgrounds Shapes, but have yet to find an alternative outside that book.

Should I use Image View as a circle? Or is there a third View option, such as Shapes View?

There is a "Shape", as well as "Path". These are documented in Xcode's docs. You can also find them on the web by searching for SwiftUI Drawing and Animation.

These aren't part of Swift in and of itself, though, but part of libraries supplied by Apple.

1 Like

Are they Core Libraries? I'm trying to learn UIKit first -- is that a Core Library?

Sorry, I'm really new to Swift, just started in the summer with Swift Playgrounds and am now going through the Developing in Swift series.

So, a bit of tricky nomenclature, Apple has a bunch of libraries which they call "Core" something or other, which are are good, solid libraries, but written in C++ or C, and therefore in a not Swifty style (especially since Swift didn't exist when they were written). Many are "Bridged" into Swift via other libraries. For Instance, Core Graphics is (maybe) totally covered in UIKit and AppKit.

I'd suggest the libraries you really want to understand would be the Swift Standard Library, which come with Swift; Foundation, which extends and augments the SSL and is installed with Swift (import Foundation); UIKit itself; and of course SwiftUI itself.

After, please consider skimming the rest of the Apple Developer Documentation

And of course, a great place to find answers to questions which arise in your studies would be here in this forum if it's about the Swift Language itself or the Standard Library, but for the various other libraries, you might look at Stack Overflow, with some appropriate tag, such as SwiftUI.

2 Likes

Thanks! I'm coming from a JavaScript background, and am finding the navigation of the Swift world much more difficult. This helps a lot!