A question on syntax for arguments of a function and a closure

I am just a curious newbie learning Swift.

As in the following example, syntax for specifying arguments of a function and a closure are different.

func f(a: Int) -> Int {
    return a * 2
}
let c = { (a: Int) -> Int in
    return a * 2
}

f(a:3) // valid
// f(3) // invalid

//c(a:3) // invalid
c(3) // valid

I have two questions.

1. Why is it designed this way? (If it's just a history, I want to know the historical background.)
  2. I know the syntax for function arguments was changed at Swift 3.0. Is there any possibility that will happen again for closure arguments?
2 Likes

You are contemplating SE-0111. This will help you perform searches in the forum archive.

Users frequently complain about the inability to name closure arguments (i.e. it is impossible to write f(a: 3) if f is defined as a closure). User complain because this breaks the object/closure symmetry, and makes the language irregular.

Objects (data with behaviors) and closures (behaviors that close over data) are supposedly roughly equivalent, which means that one should be able to freely choose between those two forms, for whatever reason deemed relevant:

// Form 1: sure, why not
protocol P { func f(_ x: Int) }
let object: P = ...
object.f(1)

// Form 2: sure, looks good as well
let closure: (Int) -> Void = ...
closure(1)

Unfortunately, this freedom is hindered by SE-0111 as soon as one wants to use argument labels. Only regular methods can have them, and closures are out of the game.

This creates developer frustration, because a developer often discovers too late that the closure path is hindered by SE-0111. After one has successfully toyed with closures that do not need argument labels, enjoyed the game, and started relying on closures, one suddenly hits a wall.

This explains why users frequently ask that argument labels in closures come back.